what I’m doing and not doing this december.

Happy Blogmas Day 3!

Even though I wait all year for Christmas and December, it always seems like it creeps up on me. There’s always so much I want to do and never enough time. Especially since I have to work (why do I have a job again?) it feels like I’m always trying to fit everything in on the weekends.

So, this year, I’m trying to have a more restful and relaxing holiday season. I’m cutting out some things that I normally do and adding in a couple of new ideas. Here is what I’m doing and not doing this December:

Here’s what I’m not doing this December:

December Daily.
December Daily is a photo/scrapbooking project where you take one or more photos each day in December and journal about them. It’s a way to document the 25 days leading up to Christmas. I love taking pictures and for the past three years, I’ve tried to do this project. I take all the photos but I never print them out or put them in the album or really do anything. It just becomes another thing I end up thinking about every day and feel guilty because I don’t do it. So I decided I’m not going to participate this year. I may take some photos and I may not but I’m not going to stress about printing them or doing anything with them.

Going to The Nutcracker.
I love the ballet and going to see The Nutcracker is one of my favorite things to do in December but I’m not doing it this year. For one thing, my friend that I usually go with is out of town so I would probably have to go by myself. There’s nothing wrong with going by yourself to The Nutcracker, but it’s so much fun when you go with other people. The other thing is that during the week the ballet shows at 7:30 pm which means I wouldn’t be getting home until after 10 pm, which is very late for me. I could go on the weekend, but it takes up a large chunk of time when I already feel like I don’t have enough time to do everything.

Going to the Holiday Pops.
Another thing that I love doing is going to see the Holiday Pops at the Seattle Symphony. This is such a great show, where the orchestra plays holiday music and it’s a great way to get into the holiday spirit. I’ve gone to see this show for the past two years but I think I’m going to skip it this year. Mainly because it doesn’t start until 8 pm and I guess I just don’t like being out late anymore? I would much rather be at home in my comfy clothes.

What I am doing this December:

White Christmas at the 5th Avenue Theatre.
Speaking of shows, I do want to see White Christmas at the 5th Avenue Theatre. I don’t have tickets yet but I’m pretty sure there is a matinee show on the weekends that I can attend so I won’t have to worry about being out late haha! This would be a new experience for me; I’ve never seen the stage show of White Christmas.

Working out.
I’ve been trying to prioritize my health so I’ve been making an effort to incorporate some sort of workout each day. I’m not going to lie – I hate it – but I know it’s good for me and my body so I’m hoping to continue this during December.

Making time to enjoy the season.
I just want to walk around and look at decorations and Christmas lights and be in the season. I want to go window shopping and see all the store displays. I want to listen to Christmas music and watch all the movies on Hallmark. I want to slow down and enjoy the month.

Taking time off to bookend my vacation.
I did this last year and it was one of the best things I did in December. I always travel to see my family for Christmas and last year, I took off from work the day before I left and the day after I came back. It was so nice to not be rushed the day before I left, trying to go to work and come home and make sure I had everything packed. Because I took the day off I was able to have a leisurely day of getting all my stuff together and doing all the things you do before you leave for a trip, like taking out all my trash. And then it was also nice to have a day to unpack and decompress after I got back before I had to head back into the office. I’m definitely doing this from now on.

3 thoughts on “what I’m doing and not doing this december.

    • Go forth and copy! I can’t wait to read your post! I almost thought about to the Nutcracker by myself but it’s not as much fun when you’re alone. Plus, I have all this reading to do this month…

      Like

  1. Pingback: What I’m Doing and Not Doing This December – On the Trip Side

Leave a comment