reading resolutions: 2015 in review and reading statistics.

Happy New Year!

I thought I would take this time to look back on my 2015 year of reading. I decided to tackle the Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge. I am a huge fan of the Book Riot website so I decided to attempt their reading challenge in the hopes of expanding my reading boundaries. The challenge consisted of 24 tasks, which averaged out to 2 books a month.

Unfortunately I only completed 12 categories on the challenge, which means I ended up at 50%. Not the worst, but I definitely could have done better.

Here are the categories I completed with the respective books I read for that category:

  • A book written by someone when they were under the age of 25 – NAMEDROPPER by Emma Forrest
  • A collection of short stories – THE OPPOSITE OF LONLINESS by Marina Keegan
  • A book by or about someone that identifies as LGBTQ – TIPPING THE VELVET by Sarah Waters
  • A book by a person whose gender is different from your own – THE STRANGER by Harlan Coben
  • A YA novel – THE MOON AND MORE by Sarah Dessen
  • A sci-fi novel – ARMADA by Ernest Cline
  • A romance novel – DELICIOUS by Sherry Thomas
  • A book that is a retelling of a classic story – SPLINTERED by A.G. Howard
  • A book that someone else has recommended to you – THE THREE by Sarah Lotz
  • A book that you would consider a guilty pleasure – CHRISTMAS AT TWILIGHT by Lori Wilde
  • A book published this year – LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE by Jessica Knoll
  • A self-improvement book – GUNN’S GOLDEN RULES: LIFE’S LITTLE LESSONS FOR MAKING IT WORK by Tim Gunn

Here are some other book and reading stats for 2015:

Number of books read: 62
Averages out to 1.2 books read per week.

Number of pages read: 20171
Equals out to 388 pages read a week.

Longest book:
Tipping the Velvet at 498 pages.

Shortest book:
Unwrapping Her Perfect Match at 119 pages.

Oldest book:
Namedropper and Tipping the Velvet – both first published in 1998.

Books by genre:
Fiction – 55
Nonfiction – 7

Books by acquisition type:
50 books were borrowed from the library.

Books by format:
Paperback – 6
Hardback – 12
Ebooks – 44

First book read in 2015:
The Moon and More

Last book read in 2015:
If I Could Turn Back Time

It was a good year for books!!

Leave a comment