a book I had forgot I read.

The other day I was browsing through the library catalogue, looking for some new books to read, when I came across a book that sounded really interesting. The book description was totally something that I would want to read and I was all set to put it on hold at the library.

So I clicked over to my Goodreads account to add it to my To Be Read list and to see what other books the author has written, only to be surprised when I realized I had already read this book in 2013. Not only had I already read that book, but I’ve read a second book by that same author and didn’t remember it either.

I was astonished. Occasionally I’ve forgotten some of the books I’ve read, but as soon as I see the book cover and read the description, the book comes back to me and I remember reading it. I might not remember the exact plot but I can tell you I’ve read the book.

But these books – nothing. I don’t remember reading either book, I don’t remember checking it out from the library (since they are not on my bookshelf), I have no memory of them. Which shocks me because clearly I thought the first book description was compelling if it caught my eye a second time.

Has this ever happened to anyone else? Or better yet, should I read the book again?

Leave a Reply

