national guacamole day.

guacamole

I can’t believe today is National Guacamole Day and no one told me! Actually, I don’t know if this is a real holiday or not, but I’m going to celebrate it anyway.

I love avocados. My only regret is that it took me so long to discover their deliciousness. When I was growing up, the neighbors in the house behind us had avocado trees that sat on the edge of their property. Avocados from the trees used to fall into our yard and the neighbors told our family we could keep them. Unfortunately 8-year old me was not into these greened-skinned fruit. When I think of all the avocados I missed out on when I was younger…

Here are some fun facts about guacamole and avocados:

  • Avocados are loaded with potassium and fiber.
  • Around 8 million pounds of guacamole are consumed during the Super Bowl.
  • Guacamole turns brown when it comes in contact with oxygen. To keep guacamole from turning brown, add water to your container until it completely covers the guacamole, creating a seal between the guacamole and oxygen. Cover the container with a lid and when you are ready to use the guacamole, pour the water out and give the guacamole a quick stir.
  • Avocados are a fruit, more specifically a single-seed berry.
  • There are hundreds of different types of avocados.
  • Archaeologists have found evidence of avocado consumption going back almost 10,000 years in central Mexico.
  • Another name for the avocado is the “alligator pear” because of its bumpy, green skin and pear shape.

Happy #nationalguacamoleday!

Leave a Reply

