what I’m reading: the widow by fiona barton.

the widowThe Widow is the story of Jean Taylor, whose husband Glen has been accused of a horrific crime. Throughout the investigation and criminal proceedings, Jean has stood by Glen. But now Glen has died and Jean can finally tell the truth. Everyone wants to know about the crime Glen was suspected of committing and now Jean can reveal what really what happened.

I really enjoyed this novel. Right off, you know that Jean’s husband is not a good guy and that he probably has done something bad but you don’t know what it is. For me, this book wasn’t necessarily suspenseful in that you were wondering whether Glen had committed a crime – I was fully in the guilty camp for him. But it’s more about how the crime was committed and what happened after.

The author did a good job at depicting marriage and how people act in marriages. Jean strived to be the perfect wife and stand by her husband, even when she had her doubts. Glen wasn’t a good guy and he knew how to manipulate Jean, but there were times when I felt he genuinely cared about her. Both of them have their secrets which are revealed as the book goes on.

The ending wasn’t anything spectacular and there was no big reveal (at least for me). But what I liked most about this book was the way the author took me on an emotional journey. I got angry, I got sad, then I was understanding, then I got frustrated. But mostly I wanted to know what the truth was.

The Widow is another book told from alternating viewpoints with unreliable narrators, leading us to always question who we can trust. This is the author’s debut novel and I look forward to seeing what she publishes next.

Leave a Reply

