what I’m reading: don’t you cry by mary kubica.

don't you cryA young woman named Esther Vaughan disappears from her apartment. Her roommate, Quinn Collins, has no idea of where Esther could be. The only clues to Esther’s disappearance are a letter addressed to My Dearest and a trashcan full of shredded papers. Meanwhile, in the small Michigan town where Alex Gallo lives, a strange woman appears and Alex is immediately captivated. Who is this woman and is she related to the disappearance of Esther?

I kept seeing this book at the bookstore and was intrigued by the cover (especially the backwards R), so I finally put a hold on it to check out from the library. I seem to be reading a lot of psychological thrillers lately. They are quickly becoming one of my favorite genres and this book is no exception.

The story is told in alternating viewpoints from Quinn and Alex. This book is big on the creepy as there are dashes of twisted backstory and potentially murdering roommates. With no idea of where to look for Esther, Quinn takes to searching through her and Esther’s apartment. And while Quinn describes herself as not the sharpest knife in the drawer, she soon realizes that she may never have known Esther to begin with.

Don’t You Cry is a slow build and there were times where I told myself I totally knew what was going to happen. But just when I thought I knew where the story was going, the author would throw in another plot point that would change everything.

This was the first book I’ve read of Mary Kubica’s. I will definitely check out her other titles.

* Unfortunately we never find out why the R in the title is backwards on the cover. Perhaps it is the style of Mary Kubica’s? If anyone knows, I would love to find out.

Leave a Reply

