what I’m reading: scarlett epstein hates it here by anna breslaw.

scarlett epstein hates it hereOn the internet, high school junior Scarlett Epstein is a big name in the Lycanthrope High TV show’s online fandom. But in real life, she’s a nobody at school and her only friends are Avery, a shy bookworm, and Ruth, her 73 year old neighbor. When Lycanthrope High is cancelled, Scarlett and her online friends are shocked and devastated. Unwilling to part from her internet friends, Scarlett begins writing a new fanfiction, set in the world of Lycanthrope High but based on events and people from her own high school. When her classmates discover her stories, not everyone is as fond of them as Scarlett and her online friends are, and Scarlett is faced with some considerable consequences.

I had so much fun reading this book! I thought the character Scarlett was hilarious and a breath of fresh air. She wasn’t a special snowflake who’s fate is to save the world, she didn’t have a horrible backstory or horrific event to happen in her childhood. She just seemed like a regular, funny high school girl who likes pop culture and has a crush on a boy.

I thought the supporting characters made the story well-rounded. I especially enjoyed Scarlett’s relationship with Ruth. I thought the family relationships were fairly truthful and they really touched on what it’s like to be a teen and be insecure and make mistakes.

I honestly didn’t expect to like Scarlett so much. She is sarcastic and snarky, and quick with the one-liners. She surprised me and I found her to be very likeable.

The book finished with a bit more serious ending than I expected but I think it shows how Scarlett grew and changed as the story went on. If you’re looking for a fun, quick read, I would urge you to read this book.

One thought on “what I’m reading: scarlett epstein hates it here by anna breslaw.

Leave a Reply

