avocado and mozzarella grilled cheese.

April is National Grilled Cheese Month. I love grilled cheese. Cheese is one of my staple foods and I buy cheese just about every time I go to the grocery store.

I’m telling you, I eat a lot of grilled cheese.

So this month, I’m indulging in my love of grilled cheese. Normally, I just slap some cheese in between 2 slices of bread, grill it up, and chow down. But since it’s April and Grilled Cheese Month, I’m going to try out some new recipes.

Avocado and Mozzarella Grilled Cheese.

This grilled cheese is based off of the Green Goddess Grilled Cheese Sandwich recipe over at TasteSpotting. I tweaked the original recipe a bit so that it was more to my liking.

The recipe called for a pesto spread, but I’m not a big fan of pesto so I mixed some mayonnaise and mustard together and spread it on the bread instead. I then layered mozzarella, spinach, and avocado. Instead of goat cheese, I sprinkled some blue cheese crumbles on top, mainly because I like blue cheese better than goat cheese – I think blue cheese has more flavor.

Then, I placed another layer of spinach and mozzarella and topped it off with the second piece of bread. I buttered the outside of the bread and grilled it up on my stove.

The sandwich came out perfect. I’ve never eaten mayonnaise or mustard on a grilled cheese before but I really liked the way it tasted and how the mustard added a bit of tang to the sandwich. I often find mozzarella to have not a lot of flavor, so the blue cheese added a great creamy and sharp flavor to the grilled cheese.

The mozzarella melted perfectly and was gooey and stringy. And of course, everything is better with avocado.

spinach and avocado grilled cheesespinach avocado in pan

Happy Grilled Cheese Month!

Leave a Reply

