one little word // march check-in.

My One Little Word for 2016 is SHINE.

Unfortunately I haven’t been shining much. These past few months I’ve been completely unmotivated.

During the week I get up, go to work, and come home. Occasionally I’ll drag myself out to an event or get-together that I’ve committed to, but other than that, I haven’t done much. On the weekends, it’s a struggle to leave my apartment to go out and find something to do.

(Maybe because of our weather? Lately it seems like the weather will be nice during the week, only to have it completely change on the weekend, just in time to ruin any plans I may have had to go outside.)

Other than completing a few writing projects, I haven’t felt motivated to write for myself or for this blog.

And I’ve been in a huge reading slump. I know it’s only March, but I’ve only read 7 books this year so far. For someone who usually reads 2 or 3 books at a time, it’s not a lot.

But – last weekend I got out of my apartment. I went to the gym, I went window-shopping, I had some coffee, I got a manicure. The sun was out (at times) and I couldn’t stay in my apartment any more. I headed up to the library where I picked up a cluster of books I had on hold. And I finally finished writing a book review I’ve been working on forever, or at least it seems like.

I started reading one of my library books and I’m a good portion into it, so I’m chipping away at my reading goals.

It seems like things are maybe starting to turn around, which brings me back to SHINE and my one little word.

I’ll confess: I haven’t much thought about SHINE this year. It’s hard to look at yourself and admit your fears and what I perceive to be my failures. But I feel that participating in this project will help me to build momentum and move forward.

So I’m heading over to check out the One Little Word monthly prompts that I’ve missed and hopefully I can dig myself out of this slump.

Leave a Reply

