what I’m reading: never judge a lady by her cover (rules of scoundrels book 4) by sarah maclean.

never judge a lady by her coverNever Judge a Lady by Her Cover (Rules of Scoundrels Book 4) by Sarah MacLean.

I don’t really know how to talk about this book without giving away any spoilers. But if you’ve seen the cover of this book, I’m sure you can figure it out.

This is Chase’s book. We finally get to meet Chase, the mysterious fourth owner of The Fallen Angel. Once again, previous characters make their cameos and it all boils down to what is the future of The Fallen Angel.

Georgiana Pearson has seen her share of scandal, having being ruined before her first season. But Georgiana has reluctantly decided that she needs to marry, and in order to make herself marriage material she’ll need the help of Duncan West, a newspaper mogul who has the power to turn the opinions of Society. The only hiccup? Making sure Duncan, and the rest of Society, doesn’t find out that Georgiana is actually Chase, the secretive co-owner of The Fallen Angel.

This is my favorite book in the series. I loved Georgiana and Duncan. I thought their interactions were hilarious, but sweet. And I adored the banter between them. It was witty and funny and it made the characters real. MacLean has a real knack for writing believable dialogue.

I also liked the relationship Georgiana had with Bourne, Cross, and Temple. I love that they treated her like a strong, independent woman and not someone who needs to be protected or rescued. It was refreshing to see that characterization in a historical romance and it made me have so much more respect for the male characters.

I truly enjoyed the Rules of Scoundrels series and I am off to more works by Sarah MacLean.

Leave a Reply

