what I’m reading: if I could turn back time by beth harbison.

if i could turn back timeOn the eve of her 38th birthday, Ramie Phillips is partying on a boat off the coast of Florida. However, when she falls and hits her head, she finds herself waking up in her childhood bedroom in her 17-year old body. Is Ramie dreaming or has she actually traveled through time? Either way, she’s forced to muddle her way through the last days of high school without anyone realizing that a 17-year old girl has the brain of a 38-year old.

I liked this book. I thought it was funny, entertaining, and brought back so many memories of high school. It also really made me think about the past and the future and how my past decisions have influenced who I am now.

What I enjoyed most about this book was that I could relate to the main character. We’re the same age and who hasn’t imagined what they would do if they could go back in time to high school? When I think about all the things I thought were so important back then, I laugh to myself.

I thought about what I would say to people and how I would act, now that I know what I know now. Like Ramie, I also wonder if I would make any changes regarding my career or personal life. I did enjoy the tidbit in the book where Ramie had to get a printout of her class schedule – I would be the same! I can’t even remember what classes I took in high school, let alone what classroom they were in and what seat I sat in.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun, “what-if”, chick-lit book.

Caution! This book may bring up nostalgic feelings from your past and/or cause you to have Cher’s “If I Could Turn Back Time” stuck in your head.

Leave a Reply

