my favorite Christmas album.

WintersongIt’s almost Christmas so you know what that means – after this weekend I’ll have to wait another year before it’s acceptable to listen to Christmas music again.

Not that that will really stop me. I typically listen to Christmas music year round, even though I usually get weird looks from people.

I love Christmas music. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because it reminds me of the holiday season. Maybe it’s because it always puts a smile on my face. Whatever the reason, you can’t really go wrong with Christmas carols.

There are thousands of Christmas carols and Christmas albums out there and I fully believe that all singers are contractually obligated to record at least one Christmas album. You don’t have to write any new songs and everyone already knows the words, so it’s probably not a large endeavor.

There are many Christmas albums that I like such as The Chipmunks, Amy Grant, Martina McBride, and Mariah Carey (you know her Christmas album is great!). This year I’ve also been listening to Pentatonix and Straight No Chaser.

But my favorite Christmas album of all is Wintersong by Sarah McLachlan.

I love all the songs on this album. It’s mellow and chill, and the perfect soundtrack to listen to on a blustery day while snuggled up under a blanket.

My favorite songs on the album are a tie between “Wintersong” and “River”. “Wintersong” was written by Sarah and “River” is a cover of a Joni Mitchell song. Both songs are beautiful and are not the typical Christmas, Santa Claus, holly jolly, Christmas songs.

I can listen to this album any time of the year and it always makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

