what’s your favorite book?

bookshelves books

I don’t have a favorite book.

That sentence makes me cringe as I write it because, someone who loves to read should have a favorite book, right?

To me, “What’s your favorite book?”, is a really difficult question and one I know readers always get asked whenever they tell people they like to read and that reading is their thing. People and friends always want to know what my favorite book is. I suspect it may be the same for anyone with a passion – movie people get asked what their favorite movie is; sports people get asked what their favorite team is.

But for me, I don’t really have a favorite book because I find that what I like and what I want out of a book changes over time, so a book that I may have loved in high school may not be my favorite book now.

Similarly, I read a lot of different genres of books and I find it hard to compare genres against each other. Usually there’s a reason why I’m reading a specific genre, whether it’s to learn about something in real life, to read a happily-ever-after, or to be engaged in a character’s fascinating life and struggles. I find it difficult to compare a romance novel to a sci fi or non-fiction novel.

So, while I don’t have favorite books, I do have books that always remain on my bookshelves. I have books that I will continue to keep long after I’ve read them, although I am a re-reader and will frequently re-read books I love. I keep books that I’ve read more than once, usually many times, and books that I will always remember where I was and what I was doing when I read them.

Here are some books that will always remain on my bookshelf:

A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving
I read this book about 7 or 8 years ago on the advice of a roommate. It was great.

And Then There Were None – Agatha Christie and The Witch of Blackbird Pond – Elizabeth George Speare
I read these books in junior high in my English class and will always remember them.

Rage of Angels – Sidney Sheldon
My college roommate recommended this book to me and I couldn’t get enough of it. It’s a bit outdated, as it was first published in 1980, but worth every page.

No Greater Love – Danielle Steel
This was the first Danielle Steel book I ever read and it has always stuck with me. Also, I read it at a time where I was obsessed with everything Titanic, so the Titanic storyline got me.

Uprooted – Naomi Novik
One of the best books I’ve read this year. I loved the storyline and the magic and the characters and just, everything. Read my review here.

Harry Potter series – J.K. Rowling
I didn’t start reading these books until I was in law school and I believe the 6th book was just coming out. I definitely binge read books 1-5 before I knew what binge reading was. Those books got me through a lot of studying and reading about torts.

Where the Sidewalk Ends – Shel Silverstein
Another book I read in junior high, this time for my drama class. We picked our favorite poems and then performed them for the nearby elementary schools. I remember thinking that Shel Silverstein was the coolest poet and I wanted to be just like him.

She’s Come Undone – Wally Lamb
I read this book after I graduated from college when I was taking a trip to New York. While this is a heartbreaking story, I’ll always remember being on the airplane and reading about Dolores eating pistachios in her dorm room.

Something Borrowed – Emily Giffin
This book I read after I graduated from law school and adored it. Maybe because the main character was a lawyer and it gave me hope for romance or maybe it was because there were flashbacks from law school but I really enjoyed the two main characters. p.s. it’s so much better than the movie!

Mr. Maybe – Jane Green
It’s quite possible that this book began my love for chick lit starring British gals in their 20’s. Loved it and love Jane Green.

Practical Magic – Alice Hoffman
The way that Alice Hoffman writes is lyrical. Her writing is so beautiful and is the main reason I continue to re-read this book.

Do you have a favorite book or a book that will always remain on your bookshelf?

9 thoughts on “what’s your favorite book?

  1. For me, it’s usually either “100 Years of Solitude”, by Gabriel García Márquez or “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee. “Mockingbird” usually wins out, because it’s more accessible to me, but I keep going back to “100 Years”.

    But, I don’t really have a favorite book, either.

    Like

    • 100 Years of Solitude is one of those books I’ve always meant to read. Since you speak highly of it, maybe that will push me to read it. I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t have a favorite book. Thanks!

      Like

  2. Books ? My shelf is Brimming with Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams and Jasper Fforde, but I also enjoy reading War Stories, since I picked some of them up for my Volunteer Role at Imperial War Museum North. Currently revisiting “War Horse” by Michael Morpurgo before I read Robert Westall’s book “Blitzcat”

    Like

Leave a Reply

