fritter Sunday.

apple fritters and coffee

When I lived in DC, a couple of my coworkers and I would partake in Fritter Friday where, every Friday, we would all traipse down to Starbucks and get an apple fritter. It was just something to do and an apple fritter always somehow tasted better after we had been looking forward to it all week. Fritter Friday continued until one if my coworkers left for a different job and I realized that the fritters were putting too much weight on my hips.

But I got to thinking about Fritter Friday again recently and decided I wanted a fritter. I found this recipe on The Pioneer Woman’s website and today, I set out to make some apple fritters.

apple fritters1

They turned out awesome and were a nice treat for breakfast.

The recipe was super easy to follow. I followed the recipe exactly, so now I have a big bottle of canola oil that I have to figure out what to do with. I don’t usually cook or fry food in oil so I guess I’ll have to finagle something to do with what oil was left over.

frying fritters

A couple of notes:

  • The fritters took me over an hour to make. The recipe claims that prep time is only 15 minutes. Yeah, maybe if you have someone pulling out all the ingredients for you and measuring them out and all you have to do is stir them together. Really, it took me over 15 minutes just to peel and chop the 2 apples. But I don’t normally chop things up so I guess if you are an expert chopper, it may take you less time. Me, not so expert. I was starving by the time the fritters were done!
  • The recipe also claims the cooking time is only 10 minutes. Okay, I can see that happening if you have a big pot/pan to fry the fritters in. I did not, so I used a regular sauce pan and it took me about 6 or 7 batches to cook all the fritters. They did only take about 3 minutes or so to cook, so I think if you had a big pan to cook them in, you could do them all in 3 or 4 batches.
  • Make sure your melted butter is cool before you mix it in with the eggs. My butter was not cool all the way and a little bit of egg coddled. But shhh, I just kind of scooped that part out…
  • The recipe states you can either dust the fritters with powdered sugar or dunk the fritters in a doughnut glaze. I chose to drizzle the glaze on top of the fritters, but I’m positive the powdered sugar would be just as yummy!
  • This recipe makes a TON of little fritters. If you’re making them for a large party of people, great! You will definitely have enough. Since I was making them just for myself, I have a huge bunch left over. But that’s okay – I will just save them and eat them for dessert later on this week (and next week, and maybe the week after that).

apple fritters

Happy Fritter Sunday!!

 

2 thoughts on “fritter Sunday.

Leave a Reply

