I tried all of starbucks’ new fan favorites frappuccinos.

frappuccinos

So, in honor of the Frappuccino’s 20th anniversary, Starbucks held a contest to pick the newest Frappuccino flavor. The company offered 6 new flavor combinations to choose from, all created by fans. The winning Frap will earn a spot on the Starbucks menu and will be offered at a discounted price from July 3 to July 6.

I’m not ashamed to tell you that I tried all 6 flavors. Here is what I thought:

Cupcake – This tasted like a sweeter version of the Vanilla Bean Frappuccino. I could taste a little bit of a birthday cake flavor – in fact, it actually tasted just like the Birthday Cake Frappuccino offered earlier this year. I felt that Starbucks cold have done something more to make the Frap more like a cupcake – they could have added something to the whipped cream to make it more frosting-like or they could have added sprinkles to make the whipped cream resemble more of a frosted cupcake.

Lemon Bar – If Creamsicles came in lemon flavor, that is what this Frappuccino tasted like. The lemon flavor was very mild and practically nonexistent. I had hoped that the Frap would be more tangy and tart, like a lemonade slushie, but it wasn’t.

Cotton Candy – I’m not entirely sure what this Frappuccino tasted like, but it did not taste like cotton candy. This one also had a very mild flavor. I could definitely tell that it was a vanilla Frappuccino with raspberry syrup added. I think I didn’t like it much because, in my opinion, cotton candy does not taste like raspberry. I think I would have liked it more if it tasted sweeter, like bubblegum. You can’t name your Frappuccino ‘Cotton Candy’ and have it not taste like candy.

Caramel Cocoa Cluster – This Frappuccino is my favorite. It is basically a caramel Frappuccino and a mocha Frappuccino blended together. It was caramel and toffee and just heaven. It also contains coffee, which made it all the more better.

Cinnamon Roll – Again, I’m not sure what I expected this Frappuccino to taste like. I couldn’t decide if the cinnamon should taste spicy or sweet. This Frap was actually very sweet and tasted like a caramel Frappuccino with cinnamon added. It would probably be my second choice.

Red Velvet Cake – This Frappuccino was basically a raspberry mocha. It tasted nothing like red velvet. I felt it was the worst out of the bunch. If I wanted a raspberry mocha Frappuccino, I would just order a raspberry mocha Frappuccino.

And there you have it.

Leave a Reply

