thin mints please.

Ah, March. The days are getting longer, the weather is warming up, and girls in green sashes are standing on the corner, hawking their cookies. Girl Scout cookie season is here.

Personally, I cannot wait for those Thin Mints and Tagalongs and yes, I even like the shortbread cookies (these are especially good if you dip them in chocolate, I’m just saying). I eagerly wait every year until I can get my hands on those little colorful boxes of goodness. I may be a bit biased but I think everyone gets a little excited when see their friends and co-workers with those boxes. But just what is it about Girl Scout cookies that makes people salivate at the thought of them?

Let’s face it, at $4 a box Girl Scout cookies are not cheap and those Keebler cookies you can find at the grocery store are just as good (and you get more for the same price). But that doesn’t stop me from stocking up when I see that table piled high with shortbread cookies, Thin Mints, Tagalongs, those lemon sandwich cookies, you get the point. In fact, it’s always good to buy extra, then you can save them for a rainy day snack. Or, if you are like me and have discovered the awesomeness of frozen Thin Mints, you can stick them in the freezer for a frozen treat. Just make sure your Thin Mints have not melted before you put them in the freezer. I didn’t check one time and stuck them in there only to pull out a 6 inch chunk of cookie. But that’s another story.

Maybe we love Girl Scout cookies because of the nostalgia. I was a Girl Scout when I was in elementary school and I loved earning those badges, being a member of the troop, and wearing my spiffy green uniform. Girl Scout cookies bring back memories of being young and building values and learning. Or maybe you love Girl Scout cookies because you were obsessed with the movie Troop Beverly Hills and while the Wilderness Girls are not actually Girl Scouts, who doesn’t want to sell cookies on Rodeo Drive while singing a song about it being cookie time? (If you have not seen that movie you are really missing out!)

The point is, Girl Scout cookies are here for the next month or so and I don’t know about you, but I definitely need to stop by the ATM to get some cash so I can replenish my supply. I’m off to buy some cookies now.

Leave a Reply

