reading resolutions: 2014 in review and reading statistics.

open books 2I had 1 reading resolution for 2014:

1. Read 12 books from my To Read list.

As of the end of 2014, I am proud to say that I read 18 books off of my To Read list. I think I definitely met my goal. I enjoyed browsing through my list while looking for the next book to read. Many books I had forgotten were even on the list and I had to look up the synopses for plenty to remember what they were about and why I had put them on the list. For my reading resolution goal, I only counted books that were added to my To Read list or purchased by me before January 1, 2014. I am constantly adding to my To Read list and I wanted to focus on reading books that had been on the list before I set my resolution.

However, while I did manage to whittle down my To Read list by 18 books, I also added 34 books to the list in 2014. Looks like I will have to keep plugging away at that list.

Here are some other book and reading stats for 2014:

Number of books read: 52
This averages out to 1 book read per week.

Number of pages read: 16,580
This averages out to 318 pages read a week.

Most books read in a month:
7 books read in December. I suspect this is because I was trying to meet my not-stated goal of reading 52 books in a year. I also went on vacation in December and I always read more when I am on vacation because of time spent at airports and on airplanes.

Longest book:
Allegiant by Veronica Roth at 526 pages.

Shortest book:
Fanning the Flames by Victoria Dahl at 61 pages. Although I think this book technically is a novella, but I’m counting it as a book anyway.

Oldest book:
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie. Originally published in 1926.

Books by genre:
Fiction – 46
Nonfiction – 6
It is not surprising that I read more fiction than nonfiction. Every year I tell myself to read more nonfiction, but it doesn’t seem to happen.

I further broke down the categories within the genres:
Fiction
General Fiction – 11
Young Adult – 16
Romance – 19

Nonfiction
Health & Nutrition – 2
Self-Improvement – 4

Books by acquisition type:
21 books were borrowed from the library.

Books by format:
Paperback – 34 books
Hardback – 16 books
Ebooks – 2 books
The majority of the hardback books I read were checked out from the library. Part of this has to do with the fact that I try to refrain from buying hardback books because they are so expensive and if the book is available from the library I will try to check it out from there. I only read 2 ebooks this year, however since I have recently acquired a Kindle, I expect that number to rise next year.

Additionally, 6 books read were read for my book group.

Leave a Reply

