hello December.

December has arrived and the holiday season is my favorite time of year. Christmas music is playing all around and the trees that line the streets and sidewalks are lit up with twinkling and dazzling lights. The holiday carousel is spinning at Westlake Park and across the street the star above Macy’s shines bright.

There’s just something about this time of year that makes me giddy. Maybe it’s memories from my childhood when Christmas seemed as though it would never arrive. Our house would be filled with the sounds of Christmas songs on the radio and there were decorations everywhere. On Christmas morning (after I finally woke up) we would race into the living room to see what new presents had arrived during the night. And of course, the day was not complete without a big family dinner with all the trimmings.

I love just anything about Christmas – especially watching all the cheesy Christmas movies on the Hallmark and Lifetime channels, reading Christmas themed books, drinking hot chocolate and sitting cozy in my apartment while the snow falls outside.

Mouse KingSo far this year I’ve been indulging in Christmas by listening to Christmas music (I did wait until after Thanksgiving to start listening), hunting for those perfect Christmas presents, and taking in all of holiday experiences Seattle has to offer. The holiday windows at Nordstrom’s and Macy’s catch my eye every time I walk by, and I can’t help but smile at the children and parents lined up to see Santa. I went to the Great Figgy Pudding Caroling Competition last Friday night and over the weekend I saw the amazing Pacific Northwest Ballet perform The Nutcracker. I love giving at Christmas time and I have a couple of places lined up to volunteer at to help those less fortunate.

There’s only a couple of weeks left to get your holiday spirit on!

Leave a Reply

