what I’m reading: how to become a grown-up by kelly williams brown.

I consider myself an adult. And even though I am already an adult, when I saw this book on the shelf at the bookstore I knew it had the potential to be a fun read.

Adulting: How to Become a Grown-Up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps by Kelly Williams Brown is a book that contains, you guessed it, 468 steps and tips to become an adult. The steps range from humorous to practical to things I’ve never thought of before. A lot of the steps are common sense, but there are some great, fantastic tips mixed in and I found many tidbits and nuggets of advice that I would use in my daily life.

This book is mainly geared towards individuals in their early 20’s and those who have just graduated from college. Some of the tips include what you’ll need for your first apartment, how to survive and succeed at your first job, how to deal with growing up and communicating with your parents, and how to generally be a kind and considerate person. I definitely wish I had this book to read back when I was in my early 20’s. I could have benefited from the chapter on what to look for in an apartment because, when I was 23, I sure wasn’t thinking about things like cupboard space or the placement of wall outlets.

I have to confess that what really drew me to this book was when I opened it up to page one and saw the first step:

Accept that you are not that special.

Is it weird that I want to get that printed on business cards to hand out to people that annoy me? After reading this step I was sure that the author and I shared the same sense of humor and that I would enjoy this book. The comics and drawings were entertaining and I found myself laughing out loud at the flowcharts regarding whether your outfit is office-appropriate and how many drinks you should have at a work function.

However, not all the steps are comical and some of my other favorite steps are the insightful ones. Steps like:

Remember that the outside world only sees your outermost layer.

and:

Be the kind of friend that you want to have.

are great advice for anyone, no matter their age.

Although this book is probably most helpful to people in their 20’s, I would guess that people of all ages will find this book charming. And on the plus side, you just might figure out how to deal with the whole being an adult thing.

Leave a Reply

