parmesan and chocolate grilled cheese.

It’s still National Grilled Cheese month and I’m tasting another grilled cheese recipe. This time I made a Parmesan and Chocolate Grilled Cheese. I saw this post over at the HuffPost Taste, which was all about the science of pairing foods together. I thought the combination of cheese and chocolate sounded interesting so I decided to try it out for myself.

I actually made this recipe twice. I used my trusty sourdough bread and instead of all dark chocolate I used a mix of dark and milk chocolate. I’m not that big a fan of dark chocolate so I thought the milk chocolate would sweeten up this sandwich.

parmesan & chocolate grilled cheese

This grilled cheese tasted more like a dessert than a dinner. The first time I made it, I think I used too much chocolate and not enough cheese because it basically tasted like I was eating chocolate covered bread. Not bad, but not what I was expecting a grilled cheese to taste like. The second time I made my sandwich I used more Parmesan and less chocolate. This sandwich tasted more like the grilled cheese I know and love. I could taste the savory flavor of the cheese, but there was also a hint of sweetness from the chocolate.

Over all, this was a fun sandwich. I might make it again, perhaps not necessarily for a meal but more if I were looking for something to eat that was a bit of a treat.

Leave a Reply

