gorgonzola and mozzarella grilled cheese.

I’m a big fan of grilled cheese which is why I was super excited to find out that not only was last Friday National Grilled Cheese Day, but the whole month of April is National Grilled Cheese Month!

I’ve been scouring the internet for new tasty grilled cheese recipes and I’ve found a few that I can’t wait to try out. Here is my first:

Gorgonzola and Mozzarella Grilled Cheese

I came across this recipe from esquire.com for a Grilled Blue Cheese sandwich and thought it sounded delicious. Blue cheese is a favorite of mine (as long as it is not too pungent!) but I’ve never tried it in a sandwich.

I used sourdough bread instead of the recommended pumpernickel, because that’s what I prefer. I found this yummy Gorgonzola Dolce and layered it with the mozzarella and radicchio on my sandwich. It was pretty tall, sitting in the pan, and I wasn’t sure how I was going to flip the sandwich without everything falling out. But it smashed together when the cheese melted and came out perfect.

This sandwich was scrumptious, but messy. The Gorgonzola cheese was a bit runny when melted and kept oozing out the sides. I recommend lots of napkins if you try this recipe. The flavors of the Gorgonzola and mozzarella mixed well and this turned out to be a great grilled cheese.

gorgonzola grilled cheese

Leave a Reply

