10 quotes/from Jane Austen.

I can’t say enough good things about Jane Austen. Her novels contain some of the cleverest and funniest commentary on 18th and early 19th century society. They are filled with wit and irony, used to deride and mock the attitudes of the landed gentry, especially the way women were forced to rely on marriage to procure their social and financial security. Additionally, her works seem to be timeless, as evidenced by the fact that there are countless prequels, sequels, and adaptations of all kinds of her stories.

Here are some of my favorite Jane Austen quotes:

“I have not the pleasure of understanding you.”
Pride and Prejudice

 

“If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more.”
Emma

 

“Mary wished to say something very sensible, but knew not how.”
Pride and Prejudice

 

“I always deserve the best treatment because I never put up with any other.”
Emma

 

“For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbors, and laugh at them in our turn?”
Pride and Prejudice

 

“If I could but know his heart, everything would become easy.”
Sense and Sensibility

 

“Angry people are not always wise.”
Pride and Prejudice

 

“One half of the world cannot understand the pleasures of the other.”
Emma

 

“Life seems but a quick succession of busy nothings.”
Mansfield Park

 

“I do not want people to be very agreeable, as it saves me the trouble of liking them a great deal.”
Jane Austen’s Letters

 

 

Leave a Reply

